By maxyale-2 décembre 14, 2020 In

Paris Agreement Us States

But U.S. participation in the Paris agreement is not yet over. The U.S. could opt for a comeback, and Democratic candidate Joe Biden has promised to reinstate the deal “on the first day” if he wins the election. If it does, the United States could officially resume its role under the Paris agreement in mid-February. Ben Grumbles, a climate adviser to Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan, a Republican, told me that the Alliance has shown that some multi-party efforts – such as the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative, a carbon trading market among Northeastern countries – are popular and work. He said Maryland had recently committed to a no-emissions electricity system by 2040. Almost every country in the world. Of the 195 countries that signed the Paris Agreement, 189 have formally adopted it. Nicaragua and Syria initially withdrew their support for the pact, but both eventually agreed to the agreement. Several tech executives – including Google CEO Sundar Pichai, Microsoft president and legal director Brad Smith, Apple CEO Tim Cook, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg and General Electric CEO Jeff Immelt – condemned the decision. [177] [178] Microsoft`s Satya Nadella stated that Microsoft believes that “climate change is an urgent issue that requires global action.” Google`s Sundar Pichai tweeted: “Disappointed with today`s decision.

Google will continue to work hard for a cleaner and more prosperous future for all. Facebook`s Mark Zuckerberg said: “The exit from the Paris climate agreement is bad for the environment, bad for the economy and threatening the future of our children. From a technical point of view, the Paris agreement does not require anything from the United States. In fact, it is not even a contract. It is a non-binding agreement between nations at all levels of wealth and responsibility for climate change to reduce national emissions. On the evening of June 1, the governors of seven other U.S. states (Connecticut, Hawaii, Oregon, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont and Virginia) announced their intention to maintain their states` support for the Paris agreement, but not necessarily as part of the alliance. The seven states that expressed support for the Paris Agreement on 1 June have decided to become members of the Alliance within the next four days.